The Town Hall
Built by Thomas Ginn of Sudbury 1826/27 and opened for use in 1828. It is a fine and well-proportioned building in the Greek classic style occupying a prestigious site overlooking the Old Market Place.
Today The Town Hall is home to Sudbury Town Council offices, Advice Centre, Suffolk County Council Registration Services and is also open to the public as Sudbury's free Heritage Centre & Museum with a range of fascinating artifacts and interactive displays offering a window into Sudbury's rich history.
At the rear is the old and impressive entrance to the former town gaol, which held the prisoners overnight before the assizes. This has been skilfully adapted to serve as a fitting entrance to The Sudbury Heritage Centre.
sudbury heritage centre & museum
currently closed in accordance with covid-19 restrictions
From Saxons to silk...A must visit for anyone curious about Sudbury's unique heritage. Sudbury Heritage Centre is housed within the beautiful Grade II listed Town Hall with entrance on Gaol Lane. Displays offer a fascinating glimpse into the town’s past from the Iron Age to the 21st Century. Read more here.
The entrance on Gaol Lane is also the start of Sudbury's self-guided town walk: The Talbot Trail.
events & The assembly room
room available for hire
The Town Hall's impressive Assembly Room has played host to many public and private events. They include Sudbury's inaugural Silk Festival, the annual Christmas Party for senior citizens of Sudbury, tours as part of Heritage Open Days, Suffolk Day and more.
We offer competitive hire rates for private and corporate functions, and subsidised rates for local community and charitable organisations. The space is accessible and well equipped with a kitchen, toilets, chairs and tables, AV equipment including a projector and screen.
Register births, deaths, marriages and civil partnerships at Sudbury Register Office. Please get in touch with Suffolk County Council's Registration services for more information.
Phone: 0345 607 2080